Best board for adult novice

Newbies can post here

Postby DRG » Sun Sep 03, 2017 5:41 pm

Hi

Not sure if this is the right board but...

I joined a while back and a member helped me out with some trucks and wheels on a longboard deck that I had. Anyway, long story short, I thought I would cruise like a knife through butter on my 120cm longboard. However, in reality I struggled to control it and more or less gave up.

However, I am keen for another less idealistic go. Therefore of I just want to skate with my kids what should I go for, what will be easier to pick up and learn on based on the fact I have very minimal previous experience!

Thanks all

DRG
DRG
What mid life crisis ?

Re: Best board for adult novice

Postby WeeChumlee » Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:16 pm

Hi there

Take this all with a pinch of salt as I am a total noob too but this is what I found:
I started with longboard cruising, no downhill stuff, and then went on to playing around in the local skateparks on a shortboard.
I have 10 boards at last count and what I find is a follows.
For long cruises along the promenade I use a 1m board with really loose turny front trucks and stiff rear.
For short cruises this: http://www.mindlesslongboards.com/mindl ... lamari-ii/
For the local pools I have an old school 9.5" wide board that I enjoy the most. Just feels very stable and safe.
If I feel lucky I use a standard popsicle board that is a bit narrower and is lighter and more responsive.
Trucks, well I have tried a few and for me cheapo Bullet trucks are nice and turny and do me just fine.

My 2 Cents, but as we are all individuals we are all going to do it differently so nothing is gospel.

Hope you find something that suits you.

Cheers
WeeChumlee
smell of grip tape

Postby warwick » Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:12 pm