bushings question

For those with over 40 inches of equipment

bushings question

Postby andy turner » Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:17 pm

Sorry I don't usually get into details like this. But what are the benefits/ disadvantages of running flat washers, or bushing cups, or conical or barrel bushings? My brain tells me to run conical bushings 'road side' with a cup washer, as that's what I've always run on my usual boards, but longboards are a whole different ball game.
I basically want my set up to be nice and controlled, due to my size I run my trucks quite tight as my weight will compensate when carving and as I am fairly new to downhill I don't want it too loose and getting away from me. I had my Holeys set up with Holey 95a bushings and a cup washer but I'm trying out a set of Sabres out that Bigwavedave has kindly lent me (wanted something wider so its a try before you buy opportunity) and I'm not sure what direction to go with the bushings. Would the Holey bushings work ok? I have ordered some Venom 93a tall bushings with the conical top as well to see what they are like. I don't want to be sitting there changing bushes trying to get the right set up, especially withh it being the Hog Hill event this weekend so was wondering what sort of advice people could give me.
Thanks in advance
Andy
andy turner
I need a LIFE!

Re: bushings question

Postby JamesC » Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:34 pm

Heres my understanding

Cup washers hold the bushing in place more and prevent too much deformation when turning. This has the effect of increasing the turning cricle but has better stability.

Flat washers allow the bushing to deform more meaning that you can lean the truck over more with a tighter turning circle.